Caregiver's Forum
July 30, 2014, 09:09:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Dealing with a very stubborn mother! And going crazy  (Read 18707 times)
exhausted daughter

« on: February 21, 2009, 07:16:36 AM »

Hi! I am a newbie and just joined the site yesterday morning but did not have any time to post anything. My name is Linda and it is a pleasure meeting everybody in here although being new, I have not met anybody just yet. I guess I will start with my story for after reading I see we all have a different story to tell.
My story started 7 years ago when my mother lost my grandmother in a quiet peaceful death. 3 days after my grandmother's death my father took ill and died 7 weeks later from a horrible brain tumor. My mother which is now 74 has never had a good health and was being cared and taken care of by my father. I lived in another state and came down for a funeral to suddenly be stranded in a state for a good year not being able to leave my mother. I begged her to move to my state with me but she refused to do so!
I had an older sister that lived here and on the day of my father's funeral after the funeral, her family went on vacation and the plate was dropped in my hands. I have had the plate ever since with barely any support or help with my mom since.
Over the past 7 years, I have been the grass cutter, the tree trimmer, the take care of my father's dog, the driver to doctor's offices, grocery stores, beauty shops and been nurse, doctor and friend.
In the past 7 years I have been through a living night mare with my mom. She has been able to live on her own and pay her bills, but needs assistance with many things. She can't drive, she can't take groceries in the house. Etc. etc!